If you gain control of an opponents creature do you gain control of any equipment attached to it?

Asked by navarre 6 years ago

1.) If you take control of an opponents creature for the turn and it has equipment on it, can I a.)remove it and/or b.) sacrifice it to an artifact eating pump-able?

xo2 says... #1

technecly, i think that the equipment falls off, as you gain control of the creature not the equipment

February 7, 2011 6:57 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

The equipment stays attached to the creature, but you don't control it. That means: a) You can't play the Equip ability to move it. b) You can't sacrifice it to anything.

February 7, 2011 7:35 p.m.

Siegfried says... #3

Rhadamanthus is right. The permanent you gain control of is the creature, not the equipment. The equipment has the ability to attach itself to creatures, creatures don't attach equipment to themselves (except maybe for things like Brass Squire ). If you cast Metallic Mastery on an equipment, you could reattach it, sacrifice it etc.

February 7, 2011 10:52 p.m.

navarre says... #4

Ahh cool thanx came up in a draft last friday wasn't sure on how to play it, also with metallic mastery could i keep the equipment permanently if i attach it to my creatures? and what if its attached to something already?

February 8, 2011 6:54 p.m.

Siegfried says... #5

At the end of the turn, the equipment will still be attached to your creature even though you've lost control of the equipment, just like how the equipment is still attached to your opponent's creature when you steal it. When your opponent gets it back, of course, first step is to re-equip to one of their own creatures.

February 8, 2011 7:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed