If someone took possession of my creature and I kill them, do I get the creature back under my control?

Asked by Nuubi 1 year ago

So the scenario goes, someone played a Chromeshell Crab face down and morphed it, taking control of my Apocalypse Hydra. The turn came back around to me. I drew an Insurrection tapped out and played it. So, I took possession of everything, proceeded to swing with everything but a blocker. I took out the opponent that took control of my apocalypse hydra and one other opponent. We were playing commander so I still had one opponent left. The question is since I took out the player who took possession of my hydra, would I regain control of it or would it go to the grave yard?

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

Chromeshell Crab 's ability is a control-changing effect. When a player leaves the game, one of the things that happens is that all effects that give that player control over objects end, which would include the one from the Crab. At that point, control of your Apocalypse Hydra would revert to whoever controlled it prior to the Crab's control-changing effect, in this case you.

If they had somehow put the Hydra on the battlefield directly under their control (not a control-changing effect), it would be exiled when they leave the game.

The Hydra would only go to your graveyard if it was somehow killed or sacrificed during all of this.

April 1, 2019 5:57 p.m.

Nuubi says... #2

Awesome, so this would apply to other “take control of enchanted permanent” type spells as well then I assume? Like In Bolas's Clutches ?

April 1, 2019 6:05 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

Yes.

Cards like Endless Whispers or Grave Betrayal allow for putting a card you don't own onto the battlefield directly under your control, and those creatures would be the ones exiled if their controller leaves a multiplayer game with two or more players still in it.

April 1, 2019 6:21 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #4

In the case of In Bolas's Clutches , Clutches would leave with the player, ending the control-changing effect and returning the enchanted permanent to you.

On the other hand, if they used Ghostly Flicker or similar to exile and return the stolen permanent directly under their control, you wouldn't get it back; it would be exiled.

April 1, 2019 6:24 p.m.

Nuubi says... #5

Thanks Kogarashi! Appreciate your time! Never thought of using ghostly flicker in that manner. Also never seen that grave betrayal card before. Will go nicely in my thievery deck ; )

April 1, 2019 6:59 p.m.

Please login to comment