If I have Thrumming Stone out, and cast another one, do I get the ripple effect?

Asked by KsP_FtW 4 months ago

So I built this casual rats deck revolving around Relentless Rats, and threw in some other cool rats, now running a playset of Thrumming Stone, I often come across the issue of having multiple, and it being legendary. There was a situation where it was the only thing I could play, while I had one out, as well as some creatures, and casted it, at the time, I didn't get the ripple effect, should that have happened?

Pieguy396 says... #1

I'm not quite sure what you're asking, but I assume you mean that you cast a Thrumming Stone while you already had another Thrumming Stone out, and didn't ripple 4 to try and find another Thrumming Stone? As far as I know, that shouldn't happen; you should be able to ripple 4 for more Thrumming Stones and cast them as well. Of course, once they all resolve, you'll still have to sacrifice all but 1 because of the legend rule.

May 15, 2017 8:13 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

It isn't once they all resolve, it is a state-based action whenever a player controls more than one legendary permanent with the same name. This means that they will be sacrificed one at a time as they resolve, not all at once after they all resolve.

May 16, 2017 1:27 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Technical nitpick: the legend rule doesn't cause you to sacrifice anything. You put all but one of the legendary permanents into their owner's graveyard, but this doesn't count as a sacrifice.

May 16, 2017 10:15 a.m.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #4

I'm going to assume you're talking about MTGO here, since you're asking "should that have happened?". I also feel the question hasn't been answered at all yet, which is why I'll take it from the top:

If you have a Thrumming Stone in play and cast another, it will have Ripple 4, so with the newly cast Stone on the stack, you get to reveal the top 4 cards of your library. You may then cast any amount of cards named Thrumming Stone, and if you choose to do so, those will also have Ripple 4.

Let's assume that you don't find any or choose not to cast any, concluding the resolution of the Ripple trigger. Now, with the second Thrumming Stone being the topmost object on the stack, that will resolve and enter the battlefield. The active player would gain priority, so state-based actions are checked and have you put one of them into your graveyard. This only matters once the card is on the battlefield - the Legend rule doesn't apply to any other zone (which includes the stack), and it doesn't impose any rules on triggered abilities such as Ripple.

Now, if you do find any other Stones within the four revealed cards, you may cast them. Nothing particularily different will happen (other than you getting additional Ripple triggers), and each time one of them resolves, you will have to put one in your graveyard as a state-based action.

May 17, 2017 4:50 a.m.

Please login to comment