If I have a Scrap Trawler in play, a Walking Ballista on the graveyard, and I sack a Mox Opal, would Walking Ballista return to my hand?

Asked by Dergam 3 years ago

I ask this because I've seen a lot of people playing the Ironworks Combo, and when they sack their Mox Opal, with another on the graveyard, they don't retrieve the one on the grave.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, it won't return. Any X in a mana cost defaults to 0 if the card isn't currently being cast as a spell on the stack. Since Scrap Trawler only lets you get back an artifact with a lesser converted mana cost than the one that triggered the ability, you won't be able to get anything if an artifact like Mox Opal with CMC 0 goes to the graveyard (there are no cards in the game with less than 0 CMC, and the rules of the game don't currently allow for such a CMC to exist).

June 21, 2017 10:55 a.m.

Please login to comment