If I destroy the source of an activated ability in response to it's activation, does the ability still resolve?

Asked by Gorgosaurusrex 5 years ago

An example:

My opponent activates the ability of Pack Rat to make a rat token. In response, I use Hero's Downfall to destroy his Pack Rat. Does the token still get created?

Another, slightly different example:

I activate the monstrous ability of my Stormbreath Dragon, hoping to damage my opponent. My opponent casts Doom Blade in response targeting my Stormbreath Dragon. Does my opponent still take damage equal to the number of cards in his/her hand?

Any clarification would be appreciated.

erabel says... Accepted answer #1

In general: Abilities exist independent of their sources when they're on the stack. If their source is destroyed, the ability still resolves (unless it was also targeting their source, in which case, it would be countered by game rules for not having legal targets).

The Stormbreath Dragon one is a little trickier, though. If you activate its Monstrous ability, then your opponent Doom Blade s your Dragon in response, then the damage trigger doesn't occur. However, if the Monstrous ability is allowed to resolve, and Stormbreath becomes monstrous and gets the counters, its final ability will trigger. If your opponent only Doom Blades the dragon after that happens, then it still gets to deal damage.

August 21, 2014 6:08 p.m.

Gorgosaurusrex says... #2

So I could activate the monstrous ability of Stormbreath Dragon in response to it being targeted by Doom Blade to deal the damage before the dragon dies?

August 21, 2014 6:13 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Correct. As long as the monstrosity ability resolves before Doom Blade , the last ability will have a chance to trigger.

August 21, 2014 6:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed