If an indestructible creature is dealt deathtouch damage, then loses indestructible, does it die?

Asked by Yesterday 2 weeks ago

If a creature with indestructible is dealt damage by a source with deathtouch, then later on in the same turn loses its indestructibility, will it die from having been dealt deathtouch damage earlier on in the turn?

(Assuming the amount of damage would be non-lethal were it not for deathtouch.)

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

No it wouldn’t. The state based action of checking for the lethal death touch happens only once: when the damage actually occurs.



702.2c A creature with toughness greater than 0 that's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.

704.5h If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and it's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked, that creature is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

702.12b A permanent with indestructible can't be destroyed. Such permanents aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g).

October 6, 2018 6:34 p.m.

Yesterday says... #2

Thx bae

October 6, 2018 11:03 p.m.

Please login to comment