If a card is removed from the battlefield with +1/+1 counters or an otherwise modified power, if that card's power is referenced by an effect, does it base itself off the printed value or the modified value?

Asked by Kilted Rockstar 11 months ago

If a card removes a card from the battlefield and references the power of that creature, if the target of this effect had +1/+1 counters, or otherwise has modified power, does the effect in question base itself off of the printed power of the removed creature, or its modified power? Example: Bishop of Binding exiles a Longtusk Cub with 4 +1/+1 counters, originally a 2/2 but currently a 6/6. Bishop has an effect that adds the exiled creatures power as +x/+x to an attacking vampire when it attacks. In this instance would it be +2/+2 or +6/+6?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Please link all of the cards in your question using double brackets.

Bishop of Binding

Longtusk Cub

It depends entirely on how the ability is worded. Bishop of Binding and Phyrexian Ingester both reference "the exiled card's power". This type of ability uses the values on the creature card as it exists in exile. This would be as a 2/2. Death's Presence and Fling reference the "creature's" power (notice the lack of the word card), these effects would use a value of 6 in your example.

August 30, 2018 11:27 p.m.

Please login to comment