I don't understand the "endstep" for Goryo's Vengeance

Asked by Pheardemons 4 years ago

So Goryo's Vengeance is stated that the reanimated creature stays until "end of turn." I was told by someone that if I was to play this at the end of my opponent's turn the creature would stay until my end phase. Can someone explain this to me please? Does "end of turn" mean when the end phase (cleanup step) begins, but not during? Also Through the Breach is worded this way to. Does the same concept apply?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Always check the updated Oracle text for cards in your question. Oracle text can be found at Gatherer.

Goryo's Vengeance's current wording is,

Return target legendary creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. That creature gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step.

This wording makes it clear that the effect established a delayed triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the next end step. If the spell resolves after the beginning of the current turn's end step, then the "next end step" will be the end step of the following turn.

July 23, 2015 10:58 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #2

The oracle text did not answer the question when I looked it up. That is why I asked it on TappedOut. Thank you for explaining the DTA at the beginning of the end step.

July 23, 2015 11:14 p.m.

This discussion has been closed