Humble Defector and Bazaar Trader for free card draws?

Asked by UniqueUserID 3 years ago

Can I use Bazaar Trader 's ability on Humble Defector targeting myself to gain control of Humble Defector , then tapping Humble Defector to draw 2 cards?

Due to the stack will Humble Defector resolve first netting me card draws, then Bazaar Trader will return him to me?

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

No, because Humble Defector will no longer be a legal target for Bazaar Trader's ability when it goes to resolve since you no longer control it.

  • If either the targeted player or the targeted permanent is an illegal target by the time the ability resolves, the ability does nothing. The player won't gain control of the permanent.
October 21, 2015 4:46 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #2

That's a shame...

I'm assuming this is also true of Starke of Rath? Unless it not picking a target makes it behave differently...

October 21, 2015 5:01 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

The situation with Starke of Rath still works the same way because Bazaar Trader still works the same way. If the permanent targeted by the Trader's ability isn't under your control when that ability would start to resolve then the ability is countered for lack of a legal target.

October 21, 2015 5:27 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #4

Got it. Thank you both.

October 21, 2015 5:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed