How would these three cards interact?

Asked by StanleyTrinidadXVI 4 months ago

How would Possibility storm, Eye of the storm, and Knowledge pool interact? I run a deck that uses all three and if all hit the field what sort of chaos (or the lack thereof) would happen.

DJSeras says... #1

First we would ask you try to link your cards in your questions to help readers know what the cards do, this can be done by putting double brackets [ [ ] ] around a cards name with no spaces. Thank you.

Possibility Storm
Knowledge Pool
Eye of the Storm

Second this is a little complex to look at but not as crazy as it seems.

First off they are all triggered abilities that almost all trigger off of the same events. Both Possibility Storm and Knowledge Pool only trigger off of spells cast from your hand whereas Eye of the Storm will trigger off of only the casting of any Instant or Socercy regardless of originating zone, but only as long as these cards are "Cast" which is an important distinguishing feature of the way these cards work. Additionally all of these cards are forced triggers where the player must move through the at least the beginning steps of their effects.

Let us construct an example event:
You have all 3 of the above cards out and cast Divination from your hand.
All the cards trigger at once, and since you are the controller of these triggers and they are simultaneous you may choose to resolve them in any order you wish. The order in which you do this will produce potentially different results.

If you choose to resolve Possibility Storm then Knowledge Pools trigger and Eye of the Storms initial trigger will be countered and Knowledge Pool will not trigger off of Possibility Storms replacement cast as it will not be from the players hand.
Possibility Storms replacement cast from hand will trigger Eye of the Storm however.

A similar scenario will play out if you resolve Knowledge Pools trigger first, fizzling Possibility Storms trigger and Eye of the Storms initial trigger and then triggering Eye of the Storm.

Resolving Eye of the Storms trigger first however will resolve itself but then fizzle both Possibility Storms and Knowledge Pools initial triggers, and will not trigger them an additional time as it's provisional spells are neither cast nor come from the players hand.


Hope that is not overly convoluted and is easy enough to understand. Let me know if I've made a mistake somewhere, but this should be accurate.

March 8, 2018 4:32 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

If either Possibility Storm or Eye of the Storm resolve before Knowledge Pool, then Knowledge Pool will do nothing as it has an "If the player does" clause.

If Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm resolve before Possibility Storm, then you will not be able to exile the cast spell to Possibility Storm so it won't end up shuffling onto the bottom, but you will still get a second spell that shares a card type. If that card type is Instant or Sorcery, this will trigger Eye of the Storm again.

If Knowledge Pool or Possibility Storm resolve before Eye of the Storm, then the card cannot be exiled to Eye of the Storm, so it will never be copied to be cast out of Eye of the Storm, however you may still copy any number of cards exiled by Eye of the Storm and cast those. These will not trigger Possibility Storm or Knowledge Pool as the copies were not cast from hand.

March 8, 2018 9:25 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

Just want to add confirmation that Neotrup explained it correctly. None of the triggers target and so can not fizzle and only Knowledge Pool has a clause that checks to see if you exiled the spell with it.

March 9, 2018 8:03 a.m.

Please login to comment