How would damage be dealt when doubled to multiple blockers.

Asked by Signalguy25p 5 years ago

My question is. I have Boros Reckoner attacking and the defending player blocks with multiple creatures. say 3 1/1's and a 2/2. I also have a effect like Gisela, Blade of Goldnight

I know i pick the order i deal damage to blocking creatures. Is it doubled before or after assigning to each creature ie.... i deal 1 to the 1st 3 creaures then doubled to 2 each? or i have 6 damage to deal in the order i chose.

As you can see this would make a difference with how many creatures die. Thank you for your answers

Joking101 says... #1

One to the first three creatures and then doubled to two each. Gisela doubles the damage after damage has been assigned.

July 30, 2014 12:33 a.m.

FancyTuesday says... #2

You don't really choose an "order" for damage to be dealt, you "assign" how it will be distributed. Once it is assigned it is modified by Gisela and then it is dealt simultaneously.

So you only assign what you can from Boros Reckoner 's power, then it is doubled.

119.4 Damage is processed in a three-part sequence.
119.4a First, damage is dealt, as modified by replacement and prevention effects that interact with damage. (See rule 614, Replacement Effects, and rule 615, Prevention Effects.) Abilities that trigger when damage is dealt trigger now and wait to be put on the stack.
119.4b Next, damage thats been dealt is processed into its results, as modified by replacement effects that interact with those results (such as life loss or counters).
119.4c Finally, the damage event occurs.

July 30, 2014 12:40 a.m.

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #3

I realize that answer might be a bit unclear, here's a more explicit answer from Gatherer's rules section on Gisela:

If damage dealt by a source you control is being divided among multiple permanents an opponent controls or among an opponent and one or more permanents he or she controls simultaneously, divide the original amount and double the results. For example, if you attack with a 5/5 creature with trample and your opponent blocks with a 2/2 creature, you can assign 2 damage to the blocker and 3 damage to the defending player. These amounts are then doubled to 4 and 6 damage, respectively. You can't double the damage to 10 first and then assign 2 to the creature and 8 to the player.

July 30, 2014 12:55 a.m.

GJTanner87 says... #4

FancyTuesday if a creature is blocked by multiple creatures you order the blockers, then when assigning damage you must assign lethal damage to that creature before you can assign damage to the next.

July 30, 2014 4:20 a.m.

FancyTuesday says... #5

Sorry, I was confusing the phrasing with something along the lines of "this damage is done, so now I have two damage to assign before dealing it to the next creature" thing. GJTanner87 is correct in that there is an order to how damage is assigned, I just meant to say there isn't an order in how it's dealt (except in the cases of First/Double Strike).

For anyone wondering here's the rule, as it may be relevant to what was being asked if I misinterpreted the question.

509.2 Second, for each attacking creature thats become blocked, the active player announces that creatures damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures blocking it in an order of that players choice. (During the combat damage step, an attacking creature cant assign combat damage to a creature thats blocking it unless each creature ahead of that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.) This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.

July 30, 2014 8:09 p.m.

This discussion has been closed