How to equip Helm of the Host to itself?

Asked by QuamQuam 4 months ago

Im fairly new to tappedout so please go easy on me =).

How do i most easily manage to copy Helm of the Host on my own board. aka having multiple Helms on the table.

I thought of using a weird combination of Sakashima the Impostor and some cards like Tezzeret's Touch .

  1. Turn helm into a creature
  2. Make Sakashima a copy of Helm of the Host
  3. Equip Sakashima to Helm of the Host ?
  4. ?? Profit ??

would be cool if someone could provide me with some other options or ways to pull this combo off. (other than mirror gallery)

I know its pretty janky ... but this is what im trying to let my endgame be in a EDH deck im currently brewing.

Thanks in advance QuamQuam

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

An equipment cannot equip itself as a creature cannot be attached to another creature. That said you're not talking about actually equipping a creature to itself, you're talking about attaching a noncreature Sakashima the Impostor to a creature Helm of the Host. What you described works, and the tokens created will simply be nonlegendary noncreature Helm of the Hosts.

August 4, 2018 2:21 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

The Rules Q&A is more for rules questions than "how do I make X work" questions. EDH Deck Help is probably the more appropriate place.

Having said that, Sakashima the Impostor and Lazav, Dimir Mastermind are the only copy cards that don't copy the name. Lazav, Dimir Mastermind doesn't help in this scenario since its entire mechanic is just unsuited for what you are wanting to do. This leaves the only other way to have two helms initially to be Mirror Gallery and any of the Copy Artifact effects at any time or Clone effects after you make it a creature. I suppose you could also do exactly Copy Artifact and Opalescence and then equip the original to the enchantment.

August 4, 2018 2:32 p.m.

Please login to comment