How does the stack work for recalls at instant speed?

Asked by 5D_Phantom 4 years ago

So the board looks like this. I have an Arcbound Ravager with 4 +1/+1 counters, and an Aether Vial with 2 charge counters out on the field. My opponent casts Dreadbore targeting my Arcbound Ravager. In response I pay 3 mana and cast Repeal on my Arcbound Ravager. I then tap Aether Vial in order to play Arcbound Ravager back onto the field. Can all this happen on the same stack, or wouldn't my Arcbound Ravager technically not be in my hand until after the Repeal resolved? If so, could I tap Aether Vial first, then cast Repeal, sending Arcbound Ravager to my hand so that it will be there once the stack reaches Aether Vial? Or is it just impossible for this to happen all on the same stack? Thanks for the help, hopefully this is the right forum for the question, people got salty at me the last time.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

You'd have to activate the Vial first and in response cast Repeal for a pseudo-flicker effect.

If you cast Repeal on your Arcbound Ravager, and in response activate AEther Vial, the Vial will resolve first, but your intended creature, the Ravager, will still be on the battlefield. You will have to put a different creature with CMC 2 into play. Then Repeal resolves and bounces your Ravager.

If you activate the Vial and in response cast Repeal, the Ravager is bounced to your hand and then the Vial resolves, allowing you to put the Ravager back into play. Note that the 4 +1/+1 counters disappear when it leaves and 1 +1/+1 counter is placed on it when he Enters the battlefield.

March 4, 2016 7:20 p.m.

5D_Phantom says... #2

Thanks for the repl. =D

March 4, 2016 7:58 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that you could just cast Repeal, allow that to resolve, then activate AEther Vial's ability. You aren't forced to put everything onto the stack at once. Remember that spells and abilities resolve one at a time and that priority is always passed before and after resolutions.

March 5, 2016 9:26 a.m.

This discussion has been closed