how does the fight mechanic work with deathtouch?

Asked by chowline 5 years ago

I have gotten into many arguments about this, if something like Prey Upon is cast on a Typhoid Rats and a Sun Titan, only the rats would die because of "702.2b Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage, up to that creature's toughness. See rules 510.1c-d." since fighting is not combat damage it does not work with deathtouch, right?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You didn't read far enough. "702.2c A creature with toughness greater than 0 thats been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action."

Deathtouch affects all damage. In your example, both creatures would die.

August 7, 2012 10:50 p.m.

This discussion has been closed