How does Sundering Titan work with duel lands?

Asked by Husky 6 years ago

Say that my opponent has two Tropical Island and two Badlands in play when I drop a Sundering Titan to the field. Would I get to choose what lands are the basic land types that are being destroyed? i.e, I say I destroy a Tropical Island as an island, the other tropical island as a forest, a Badlands as a swamp and the other badlands as a mountain, effectively destroying all his lands. Or do I say: "I'm going to destroy one of your swamps, mountains, islands, and forests." and he decides which ones are destroyed, so he would choose a single badlands for both the swamp and mountain and a single tropical island as both the island and the forest? For the longest time I thought it was the former, but someone I went against said different and I would like to know how the interaction goes.

billpasdmf says... #1

Since it doesn't specify that anyone else makes the choices, as the controller of Sundering Titan you choose a land of each basic land type to be destroyed. You can choose the same land to satisfy multiple basic land types.

Per Gatherer:

12/1/2004 If a land has more than one basic land type, it can be chosen more than once.

But again, as the controller, you are the one who makes the call.

May 29, 2014 2:20 a.m.

Boza says... Accepted answer #2

First of all, Lands are just selected by the controller of the ability and destroyed. You have to choose as many basic land types as possible - in this case you get to destroy all 4 lands, since they have 4 different land types. Here are the relevant gathering rules:

12/1/2004 Sundering Titan's two abilities aren't targeted. When one of the abilities resolves, the Titan's controller must choose one land for each basic land type (Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest).

12/1/2004 If one of the basic land types isn't present, it isn't chosen. If the only land of a certain type is one you control, you must choose it.

12/1/2004 If a land has more than one basic land type, it can be chosen more than once.

12/1/2004 All the chosen lands are destroyed simultaneously.

May 29, 2014 2:22 a.m.

billpasdmf says... #3

Addendum:

It states that you choose a land of each basic land type, not that you choose what basic land types you want to destroy. You can't pick and choose what types you want to be destroyed. Ie if only one Forest is on the field you have to choose that forest.

May 29, 2014 2:23 a.m.

Husky says... #4

SO was I correct in my original thinking? That I could choose one Tropical Island as a forest to destroy, and another Tropical Island as an island to destroy?

May 29, 2014 2:29 a.m.

Boza says... #5

Yes, you were correct. In your example, you can destroy all four lands.

May 29, 2014 2:37 a.m.

Devonin says... #6

You do still need to destroy a plains though, if one is on the battlefield, even if it is yours.

May 29, 2014 8:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed