how does indestructible work?

Asked by deviantelement 7 years ago

How does it work? My friend has a white knight deck that pwns my decks, and the way indestructible is worded, means that the only thing I have to play against it is card:Black Sun's Zenith. Are there other ways to get rid of these annoyances?

mafteechr says... #1

Infect deals damage as -1/-1 counters, which can be used to get rid of indestructible creatures. Also, deathtouch can get rid of them, as well.

February 21, 2011 6:33 p.m.

Tezz says... Accepted answer #2

The only ways to deal with indestructible cards are to counter (eg: Mana Leak ), exile (Path to Exile ), sacrificed by their owners (Dispense Justice ) and through -1/-1 counters (infect, card:Black Sun's Zenith etc).

February 21, 2011 7:19 p.m.

Tezz says... #3

And nullifiers like Arrest .

February 21, 2011 7:20 p.m.

Karisto says... #4

Deathtouch does not affect indestructible creatures, since it is a "destroy" effect. Indestructibles are immune to it.

Tezz has the right answer, though.

February 21, 2011 7:23 p.m.

Tezz says... #5

And by the way Indestructible means it's immune to lethal damage and all effects that would destroy the card. So forget Deathtouch.

According to the Comprehensive Rules

702.2c. A creature that's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action.

If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can't destroy it. Such permanents are not destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the lethal-damage state-based effect (see rule 420.5c). Rules or effects may cause an indestructible permanent to be sacrificed, put into a graveyard, or removed from the game.

February 21, 2011 7:30 p.m.

mafteechr says... #6

Thank you for catching me on deathtouch.

February 21, 2011 7:43 p.m.

Mpz5 says... #7

Don't forget that you can always bounce either the indestructable creature, or eh hem, the knight making them indestructable with a card like Into the Roil or Unsummon .

It's annoying for sure but not unbeatable by any means.

February 22, 2011 12:01 a.m.

Justarsaus says... #8

Arrest doesnt stop it

February 22, 2011 1:35 a.m.

Karisto says... #9

Doesn't remove the indestructible ability, but it does provide a method of evasion for indestructible creatures, provided the other methods mentioned are ineffective or unavailable.

February 22, 2011 3:20 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #10

Here's an interesting tidbit that just came up yesterday: Damage doesn't slough off an indestructible creature, they just get to ignore its effects.

So if you're facing that white knight deck, and they have two Mirran Crusader s and a Knight Exemplar out there, and you cast Slagstorm , you'll deal 3 damage to each creature. ALL THREE creatures get 3 damage marked on them, which stays there until end of turn.

The Exemplar dies to this, since she doesn't make herself invincible. As soon as she does, the other knights lose their indestructibility, and the next time state-based actions are checked, THEY die, because that 3 damage marked on them earlier is still there!

February 22, 2011 9:15 a.m.

This discussion has been closed