Hexproof/Shroud vs Mass removal.

Asked by BrokenZygoma 6 years ago

I Understand what Hexproof and Shroud do respectively. Since an opponent cant target a card with either, one way to get rid of it would be to make the controller sacrifice it. Would cards like Black Sun's ZenithMTG Card: Black Sun's Zenith, or Wrath of GodMTG Card: Wrath of God also kill creatures with Hexproof or Shroud since the spell does not target them? If so it would then mean if someone played InsurrectionMTG Card: Insurrection they could gain control of Hexproof creatures for the same rule. I came across a situation like this where I lost playing Black Sun's ZenithMTG Card: Black Sun's Zenith Improperly because I thought my opponents Hexproof creature would kill me the next turn. I just wanted to clarify the rule.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

As long as an effect does not specifically use the word target, it doesn't actually target anything. Global effects and board wipes are able to get around hexproof and shroud for just this reason.

April 2, 2012 11:15 p.m.

bcurran says... #2

Epochalyptik is correct. Here is the relevant passage from the Comprehensive Rulebook:

114.9. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don't target. In general, those objects and players arent chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, "Resolving Spells and Abilities."

114.9a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn't make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word "target" in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it's not a target.

April 2, 2012 11:21 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #3

Okay that's what I thought, I just needed clarification thank you.

April 2, 2012 11:22 p.m.

Alphawolf626 says... #4

although do keep in mind aras do target, even though it says enchant

April 3, 2012 1:36 a.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #5

Yes I know that. It was just the mass removal cards that I couldn't remember the ruling on.

April 3, 2012 1:46 a.m.

GoblinsInc says... #6

although do keep in mind aras do target, even though it says enchant
Only when cast though.
April 3, 2012 9:11 a.m.

LaughingJack says... #7

so if it says destroy target creatures with 4 or more strength it wont effect them?

May 5, 2016 6:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed