Hexproof and Enchanment destruction

Asked by student-of-life 5 years ago

If a creature has hexproof and I enchant it, does the hexproof extend to the enchanment? Can the enchantment still be destroyed?

I am talking about enchanting my own creature just to clear that up:)

March 10, 2013 8:15 p.m.

saints4774 says... #2

No the enchantment can still be targeted.

March 10, 2013 8:19 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

A creature doesn't share any abilities with things that are attached to it. Hexproof/shroud/protection etc. on a creature don't do anything special to protect auras or equipment attached to it.

March 10, 2013 8:20 p.m.

Thanks, that's what I told my friend. Just making sure.

March 10, 2013 8:22 p.m.

Equality72521 says... #5

A little bit off topic but auras say enchant creature not enchant target creature so hexproof and shroud don't apply because you aren't targeting anything you're "enchanting" it.

March 10, 2013 9:47 p.m.

Absinthman says... #6

@Equality72521: Not exactly true. Auras do target upon casting. So you can't cast an aura trying to enchant a creature with shroud, a creature with hexproof that your opponent controls or a creature with protection from a quality that your aura has. Once the aura is attached though, it's not targeting anything, so giving a creature hexproof, shroud or protection after that point will not unattach the aura.

March 10, 2013 9:52 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #7

Absinthman: Mostly correct in your correction but you missed an important point. Protection prevents a creature from being enchanted by things with the protected-against quality in addition to stopping targeting (remember DEBT). So you can't get a Pacifism on a pro-white creature, and if a creature wearing Claustrophobia suddenly gets pro-Blue the aura will all off.

Everything else you said is right. Auras target while they're being cast. Equality72521, the reason that what you said isn't true is because "enchant creature" is just shorthand for what the full rules text is. The full text, found in the comp rules and on some older auras as reminder text, does use the word target. And, as Absinthman said, if you find a way to get an aura on the field other than casting it - effects like Zur the Enchanter's, for instance - you can actually get the auras on creatures with shroud or hexproof since you're no longer targeting.

March 11, 2013 3:07 a.m.

Absinthman says... #8

@MagnorCriol, oh yeah, you got me there. This round's on me. I completely forgot about the E part of DEBT. Note to self: Refrain from commenting after spending a whole night in the office.

March 11, 2013 6:22 a.m.

What is "DEBT"?

March 11, 2013 7:17 a.m.

Absinthman says... #10

DEBT is an acronym that makes it easy to remember agains what "protection" actually protects. It stands for:

D - Damage: Any damage that would be dealt by a source of quality X to a permanent with protection from X is prevented.
E - Enchant/Equip: Permanents with protection from X can't be enchanted or equipped by permanents of quality X.
B - Blocking: Creatures with protection from X can't be blocked by creatures of quality X.
T - Targeting: Permanents with protection from X can't be targeted by spells or abilities of sources of quality X.

March 11, 2013 7:31 a.m.

OH. That is handy! Thanks

March 11, 2013 7:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed