Heroic targeting in graveyard

Asked by Quadsimotto 4 years ago

Targeting a creature in the graveyard that has heroic like Agent of the Fates with a card like Morgue Burst will it work? Does the other player have to sacrifice a creature?

Drfrozenfire says... #1

Interesting question. I'd like to see what the answer is to this, but based off of the text on the ability, I would assume it would indeed trigger the heroic effect, but don't quote me.

October 3, 2013 2:45 a.m.

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #2

No. Abilities like Heroic only work when the creature is a permanent, so only while on the battlefield.

October 3, 2013 2:45 a.m.

Quadsimotto says... #3

Okay then what if it is targeted with a spell like Grim Return ? Being that is will be put "onto the battlefield" or would have the targeting of be resolved before it is actually a permanent?

October 3, 2013 5:16 a.m.

Quadsimotto says... #4

I think i may have answered my own question there. The creature coming to the battlefield is a result of the resolution of the spell and therefore the ability does not trigger because it was not yet a permanent. Is this correct?

October 3, 2013 5:22 a.m.

Denial048 says... #5

Yes, that's right.

October 3, 2013 7:05 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

Basically: the abilities on a permanent only work while it's on the battlefield, unless they specifically mention some other zone or would only make sense in some other zone (Bridge from Below , Ghor-Clan Rampager , Necrosavant , Quagnoth , etc.).

October 3, 2013 11:16 a.m.

Quadsimotto says... #7

The whole reason behind my question was the wording of "whenever you cast a spell that targets". I now know that an ability is only active or can be triggered whilst it is a permanent. Unless of course it states otherwise. Kind of a bummer. I think I would have enjoyed using that combo.

October 3, 2013 12:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed