"finale of eternity" was used and "Cabal paladin" was brought back. Will "Cabal paladin's" triggered ability activate?

Asked by Zane904 3 months ago

Me and my brother are arguing. He used "finale of eternity" to destroy my creatures and bring back his own, now one his creatures happened to be "Cabal Paladin". He says that "Cabal Paladin's trigger ability will activate because "Finale of eternity" is still in effect when "Cabal Paladin" enters the battlefield. I say no because the spell was already "cast" before"Cabal Paladin' had entered the battlefield.

dragonstryke58 says... Accepted answer #1

Please link all cards in your question using double brackets.

Finale of Eternity

Cabal Paladin

Finale of Eternity is not affected by Cabal Paladin 's triggered ability. The trigger ability cares if a historic spell is cast. A historic spell is any artifact, legendary, or saga spell. Finale of Eternity is not historic.

700.6. The term historic refers to an object that has the legendary supertype, the artifact card type, or the Saga subtype.

Even if Finale of Eternity was a historic spell, you are correct in assuming that it would not cause Cabal Paladin to trigger because the spell was already cast and is in the process of resolution.

701.4. Cast

  • 701.4a To cast a spell is to take it from the zone it’s in (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. A player may cast a spell if they have priority. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
  • 701.4b To cast a card is to cast it as a spell.
July 11, 2019 7:20 p.m. Edited.

Please login to comment