Final Judgment

Asked by Riv329 2 months ago

In commander and my opponent has there commander out and I play Final Judgment does this card remove there commander or do they get to return it to the command zone.

jlamb08 says... Accepted answer #1

They get to choose whether it returns to the command zone.

The rule for commanders is that if they would go anywhere other than the battlefield, you can choose to instead put them back into the command zone. This includes when they aren't on the battlefield (e.g. if it is returned to your hand and then discarded). This does not include stealing effects such as Mind Control or Blatant Thievery.

September 10, 2017 11:05 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

I think it is worth noting that Final Judgment's oracle text is "Exile all creatures." since "remove from the game" is the old templating for exile. So there is nothing different about the commander being exiled from it or being exiled from Swords to Plowshares.

September 10, 2017 2:37 p.m.

Please login to comment