Ferocious, can it be used multiple times? (Flamewake Phoenix)

Asked by SabbothO 3 years ago

So in my deck, Sacrificial Goblins | My First Deck | v2.5!, my big damage combo is Nantuko Husk sac'ing either Bloodsoaked Champion or Flamewake Phoenix multiple times for huge damage, Impact Tremors dealing damage every time they re-enter the field, and Break Through the Line making him unblockable. But that's besides the point, Raiding Bloodsoaked Champion back in simple enough, as long as someone has attacked that turn, Nantuko Husk obviously, he can be sac'd multiple times before the damage calc step. But Flamewake Phoenix is confusing me. I checked the comprehensive rules concerning the part that states the beginning of the combat step, but does that mean I can sac it multiple times during the "Beginning of Combat" step, as in after Main Phase 1 and before Declare Attackers Step, or does it mean I can only sac it and then return it once and only once during that step? I feel like as long as I don't declare attackers yet I could do that, the step is named "beginning of combat" step, am I wrong?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Just once. Flamewake Phoenix's Ferocious ability is a triggered ability (starts with "when/whenever/at"), and a triggered ability triggers whenever the appropriate event happens. The Phoenix triggers at the beginning of combat, meaning when the "beginning of combat step" starts. The step only starts once, so the Phoenix only triggers once.

September 6, 2015 9:17 a.m.

SabbothO says... #2

Ah, I see, that's a bummer for poor Nantuko Husk, but at least I can still sac Bloodsoaked Champion multiple times. Might have to re-evaluate Flamewake's place in my deck. Thank you!

September 6, 2015 10:58 a.m.

This discussion has been closed