Exactly what can 'Morph' cards do when face down?

Asked by Alonzo 5 years ago

Hey Folks!,

Thinking of getting a couple of Willbender for my deck, and I've never played with the morph mechanic before.It states that it can be played face-down as a 2/2 creature and flipped for it's morph cost.I'm assuming it can't attack or block when face down?Is it colourless when face down in the case of being targeted by destruction effects, or can it even be targeted? I'm just thinking in-case I don't have mana to morph it if it get's targeted.

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

As long as a creature with Morph is face down, it is considered a 2/2 colorless, subtypeless creature with converted mana cost 0 without any abilities, except for the Morph ability that lets it to be turned face up when appropriate conditions are met. It can attack, block, has summoning sickness if you haven't continuously controlled it since the beginning of your last turn, and can interact with everything that targets or otherwise utilizes creatures on the battlefield.

February 15, 2013 10:03 a.m.

Urto says... #2

A morphed card, played face down, is a typeless colorless 2/2 creature. In all respects, it still plays exactly like a regular creature. It can attack or block.

EXAMPLE: If you try to block an opponent's Akki Rockspeaker with your morphed 2/2, and your opponent casts Doom Blade on the morphed 2/2 to save their Akki Rockspeaker, you can respond to the casting of Doom Blade by flipping Willbender face up at the cost 1U. You've now triggered the morph effect and can redirect the Doom Blade. At this point, Willbender is still blocking, much to the dismay of the attacking Akki Rockspeaker), and will kiill it. This is in addition to whatever you redirected Doom Blade to kill.

February 15, 2013 10:04 a.m.

erabel says... #3

Basically, think of it as one of those flip cards, like Huntmaster of the Fells  Flip , but it only transforms one way. A morph creature is 2/2, colorless, nameless, and has (whatever the morph cost is): Transform this creature. It acts like a normal creature while it's face down. It can attack, block, be targeted, and all other things related to creatures.

February 15, 2013 10:06 a.m.

Alonzo says... #4

Thanks guys! Quick, detailed responses as always!

February 15, 2013 10:21 a.m.

This discussion has been closed