Enchantment creature vs Catch / Release ?

Asked by Bobby654 4 years ago

I'm confused about the ruling of this. say I have 3 Underworld Coinsmith 's out and my opponent uses Catch / Release to steal one then cause me to sac the others. Do I lose one or both that I have left?

HorridBEAST says... Accepted answer #1

The Underworld Coinsmiths count as both creatures and enchantments, so unless you have other Enchantments and/or Creatures on the field, you will need to sac one when you are forced to sac an enchantment and then sac the other one when you are forced to sac a creature

May 14, 2015 12:04 p.m.

Bobby654 says... #2

Thanks for letting me know. That ruling has been bugging me for a while

May 14, 2015 12:06 p.m.

Mj3913 says... #3

The wording on catch/release says 'and' so unless you have other creatures and enchantments available to sacrifice they do count as both. So one would be a creature sacrifice, and the other would count as an enchantment. It would be my understanding you cannot count one card as two sacrifices.

May 14, 2015 12:07 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

You sacrifice both.

Catch / Release requires five sacrifices if possible:
Artifact
Enchantment
Creature
Land
Planeswalker

You must choose a permutation of sacrifices that satisfies as many of those requirements as possible. If you have two enchantment creatures, you sacrifice one as an enchantment and the other as a creature.

May 14, 2015 12:07 p.m.

This discussion has been closed