EDH sideboard

Asked by Yargle 7 months ago

can you have a side board in a wizards sanctioned event like fnm

if so do the cards in the side board have to be in your commanders colours

i want to use Burning Wish

Boza says... #1

Official rules do not support it. Sideboards are an optional addition, so there has to be a special agreement with the playgroup/TO to use them. In general, wishes are not usable in EDH.

June 6, 2018 4:26 a.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Rule 13 of commander (found at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php):

Abilities which refer to other cards owned outside the game (Wishes, Spawnsire, Research, Ring of Ma'ruf) do not function in Commander without prior agreement on their scope from the playgroup.

In a tournament setting this means that the scope of Burning Wish will be determined by the Tournament Organizer, and should be assumed not to function unless they state otherwise.

June 6, 2018 12:37 p.m.

Please login to comment