EDH Mana Production

Asked by Loonmoon18 1 year ago

I'm not sure of the "new" EDH mana rules. but if a permanent or land produces any color, can it be used in a 4 or 3 colored deck?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

If a card says "...of any color to your mana pool" like City of Brass you can use it in any deck. If it has the mana symbols in the rules text like you find in Crystal Quarry you can only use it in a rainbow deck. This is all governed by the color identity rule, which only checks for mana symbols (either in rules text or casting cost) and color indicators like you see in Crimson Kobolds.

May 10, 2018 4:18 a.m. Edited.

Caerwyn says... #2

To build on what FancyTuesday said:

The new rule allows you to make mana outside of your colour identity. Under the previous rules, if your commander was Saskia the Unyielding, then you could only use City of Brass to produce , , , or .

Why is this ruling important?

Pact of Negation + Hive Mind was a viable win condition, and could eliminate every opponent not running blue. Now these decks at least have a chance of surviving through cards such as Chromatic Lantern.

It also allows you to use activated abilities of creatures you steal (i.e. through Act of Treason).

May 10, 2018 9:29 a.m. Edited.

Please login to comment