Dream Halls - is discarded card put into graveyard before resolution?

Asked by PastProphet 9 months ago

does the discarded card used to pay the cost go to the graveyard BEFORE the spell resolves?
so for example - if i discard a green card to cast Regrowth - can i get back the discarded card?
if i discard Voidmage Husher to cast a blue spell, does Voidmage Husher return to hand when the spell 'is cast' ?

No, Yes.

The card is discarded as part of paying for the cost, which happens after targets are declared. You cannot target your green card because it's still in your hand when you choose targets. The Husher, on the other hand, will trigger next time SBAs are checked, after you've put the spell onto the stack, before it resolves.

January 8, 2018 7:23 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Note that Voidmage Husher's ability can't return itself from the graveyard. Abilities on a permanent-type card (artifact, creature, enchantment, land, planeswalker) only work while it's on the battlefield, unless they specifically mention some other zone (Dread Wanderer, etc.) or would only make sense in another zone (the Flash ability on Voidmage Husher works while it's in your hand).

January 8, 2018 7:30 p.m.

Right my bad, I missed that bit. Rhadamanthus is right, Husher only works on the field. If you had a card that did actually return itself from the graveyard to your hand when you cast a spell though, that would work.

January 8, 2018 7:37 p.m.

PastProphet says... #4

aha - i total misread Voidmage Husher - i thought it returned itself from the graveyard, not the battlefield.

how about - i discard Blood Speaker to Dream Halls and cast a demon card. is the blood speaker now 'in the graveyard' when the demon 'enters the battlefield'? and thus returns Blood Speaker to hand.

January 8, 2018 8:50 p.m.

PastProphet says... #5

or, what about: discard Verdant Eidolon to cast (multicolored spell) - can i return the eidolon when the spell resolves? (does it go to the graveyard before 'Whenever you cast a spell' triggers)

January 8, 2018 8:57 p.m.

sonnet666 says... Accepted answer #6

The important stuff goes in this order here:

  1. Choose targets.
  2. Pay costs (discard to Dream Halls).
  3. Spell gets cast.
  4. Cast triggers go on stack.
  5. Things resolve in last-first order if there are no responses.
  6. Anything that triggers from the spell resolving goes on the stack.

Blood Speaker triggering from the demon ETB happens in number 6, so it will trigger and go back to your hand.

Verdant Eidolon is in the graveyard for number 4, so it will also trigger and go back to your hand.

You can't target the card you discarded to cast Regrowth because you have to choose targets at number 1, before you discard the card at number 2.

Nice interaction on the first two though.

January 9, 2018 12:20 a.m.

PastProphet says... #7

Thanks for all the explanations!

January 9, 2018 7:38 a.m.

Please login to comment