double strike, first strike enough to kill blocker

Asked by miel94 5 years ago

If a creature with double strike is blocked by 1 creature, and his first strike damege is enough to kill his blocker, would his normal combat damege than go to the defending player?

NDRue says... Accepted answer #1

No. Double strike is not the same as trample.

As long as the creature with double strike is blocked, and does not have trample, any excess damage will not happen, nor go to the defending player at all.

It's just the same as a normal attacking creature, being blocked by a normal creature in the declare blockers step. After declaring blockers, the blocker was Unsummon ed. In this case, just like your question, the blocker is not around to receive normal combat damage, would it then go to the defending player? It does not.

August 12, 2012 5:19 a.m.

miel94 says... #2

Thank you. Kinda strange though. Its like having 2 swords, you stab ur enemie with 1, and u just leave the other one hanging while u could use it to kill the next target.

August 12, 2012 5:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed