Does Whelming Wave apply to graveyards as well?

Asked by Rikon227 3 years ago

I've looked all over for this, but can't seem to find a ruling on it. If I play Whelming Wave, will it return all creatures in graveyards to players hands as well? It says "all creatures," not specifying where they're located and does not say that the creatures have to be controlled by those players either.

I feel like it isn't intended to apply to graveyards, but I can't see a reason why it wouldn't.

Thanks

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

No. Whenever a card refers to any permanents without saying "card" (e.g. creature vs. creature card) it only refers to permanents on the field. Note the text on a card like Entomb which tells you to look for a creature card and not a creature.

Whelming Wave will only bounce creatures that're on the field at the time of resolution.

July 24, 2016 8:43 p.m.

Note that Entomb searches for any card. Buried Alive is a closer card for this example.

July 24, 2016 9:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed