does the Deathtouch work here?

Asked by Tjau1985 2 years ago

I cast Nature's Way onto a Narnam Renegade , will it's 1 point of damage that it directs be deathtouch? or is it just 1 point of damage?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

Deathtouch modifies damage directly (instead of being a triggered ability, for example, or something modifying how combat works, such as Double Strike), so it does apply when Nature's Way causes that creature to deal damage.

February 1, 2017 4:50 a.m.

Panzerforge says... #2

Yes! The deathtouch applies.

The damage is still coming from the creature, so this applies to effects like deathtouch, wither, or lifelink.

However, it should be noted that this will not trigger events that specify "combat damage." (e.g., Permeating Mass.)

February 1, 2017 6:06 a.m. Edited.

Skwarka says... #3

When a source with Deathtouch deals damage (of any kind), the damage will always be considered leathel.
This will always kill the defending creature unless any of the following apply:
-the creature has Indestructable
-the creature is Regenerated
-the creature has protection from a colour that the attacking creature has (i.e. it fights Mirran Crusader)

Noteably, effects like First/Doublestrike have no bearing on how or when damage is delt

February 1, 2017 9:23 a.m.

BlueScope says... #4

@Skwarka: Your list of cases in which a creature wouldn't be destroyed is not exhaustive - there are many cases in which a defending creature would also not be destroyed, such as by removing either creature before combat damage by destroying them or returning them to the hand of their owner, by preventing combat damage, by ending the turn mid-combat, or who knows how many other ways.

Also, Protection works different than Indestructible or Regeneration - the latter two get lethal damage dealt, but ignore or remove it instead of actually causing the creature to be destroyed, while Protection prevents damage from being dealt to the creature whatsoever. This is an important distinction, as Protection does not shield a creature from being destroyed.

February 1, 2017 10:30 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

Protection form any of the creature's attributes (such as simply protection from creatures found on Beloved Chaplain) will prevent deathtouch damage, as can other damage prevention (like Ethereal Haze), unless damage can't be prevented (such as due to a Leyline of Punishment). Regeneration (like Regeneration), Totem Armor (like Boar Umbra), Indestructible (like Indestructibility) and similar can all save the creature, and don't need to prevent the damage to do so.

But yes, any damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch, including Nature's Way, fighting (like Prey Upon), and giving deathtouch (with something like Basilisk Collar) to Prodigal Pyromancer) will apply the lethal effect.

As an odd rules quirk , if a source with deathtouch deals damage to an indestructible creature that then loses indestructible (perhaps due to Bonds of Mortality) it will forget that the deathtouch made it lethal, but remember the amount of damage for if it's dealt a lethal amount.

704.5h If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and its been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked, that creature is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

February 1, 2017 4:44 p.m.

This discussion has been closed