Does Stack+Priority work like this?

Asked by Skyscraper 5 months ago

I have 4 life and no creatures It‘s my opponents turn (Mainphase)

GP= gain(s) priority

PP= pass(es) priority

1- Opponent casts Xenagos, the Reveler and PP, i have no counterspell so I PP

2- He (opponent) PP and then I PP again, so Xenagos, the Reveler resolves (because a spell/ability only resolves if both players PP without doing something, right?)

3- My opponent GP and activates Xenagos, the Reveler's 0 ability, then we all PP etc.

4- Jump to combat (we both PP as Mainphase ends)

5- He declares his 2/2 as attacker and at the end of the declare attackers step he GP, casts Sure Strike on his creature and PP

6- I respond with Scar and PP (stack is now bottom: Sure Strike, top: Scar)

7- We both PP and Scar resolves (making the 2/2 a 1/1)

8- After Scar resolves, my opponent GP and PP, so I can cast Warping Wail and my opponent GP again (stack is now bottom: Sure Strike, top: Warping Wail)

9- We both PP and card:Warping Wail] resolves, exiling his 1/1 creature

10- We both PP and Sure Strike would resolve now but has no target so it‘s “denied“

My Question: Is everything correct? (especially 2 and 8?) And also, is there a declare blockers step if defending player has no creatures?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

116.1a A player may cast an instant spell any time they have priority. A player may cast a noninstant spell during their main phase any time they have priority and the stack is empty.

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that player’s mana pool, they announce what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.


Reading these rules, you can determine that your course of action was correct. There is always a round of priority before every object on the stack resolves. You can certainly wait for Scar to resolve, and then in response to Sure Strike , cast Warping Wail . Note that you could even let Sure Strike resolve and still cast Warping Wail because the satyr token would still have 1 toughness.

As for combat, the game will always proceed trough all combat steps if a creature has been declared an attacker. There will be a Declare Blocker Step (and a round of priority at end of said step) even if defending player has no creatures.

Note: on your number 2, there isn’t a second round of priority to pass through before Xenagos, the Reveler resolves. It’s just one round and done.

April 22, 2019 11:44 a.m.

Please login to comment