Does Seal Away prevent the last ability of Lord of Shatterskull Pass from triggering before being sealed away?

Asked by Rauko88 6 months ago

So was playing a game last night and summoned Lord of Shatterskull Pass and provided 2 lvl up counters that turn. My next turn I finished lvling to 6 and attacked. My opponent used seal away targeting my Lord of shatterskull pass. Would seal away work to prevent the ability from happening? I found some information on it but nothing about seal away preventing the ability from triggering

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, Seal Away can't be used to stop the trigger in this example. Once Lord of Shatterskull Pass attacks, its ability triggers. Removing it from the battlefield won't cause the game to back up and "un-trigger" the ability. The only way to prevent the trigger is to stop Lord from attacking before it actually attacks. Seal Away can only target a tapped creature, so by the time your opponent is allowed to cast it on Lord, it's already too late.

August 9, 2018 2:20 p.m.

Please login to comment