Does Painter's Servant allow spells to be cast as if they had hybrid mana costs?

Asked by Catalog9000 1 year ago

Painter's Servant makes my spells different colors. Do I need to adhere to the colored cost of the spells, or can I cast something like Shock by tapping an Island?

I know it's a really stupid question, but it's not actually explicitly stated within the card's rulings. Figured it wouldn't hurt to ask; It'd just make me look stupid lol.

The actual reason I am asking is because of the 05/01/2008 ruling: "This ability doesn’t overwrite any previous colors. Rather, it adds another color."

So my Shock is still a red spell, but it could also be a blue spell. Since that is the case, I was wondering if this also in turn means I can cast it using blue mana.

Quantumsandwich says... Accepted answer #1

As you expected, the Shock still must be paid for with red mana. A spell's color and it's mana cost are two different aspects of the card. In most cases, a spell's color is determined by it's mana cost, but there are exceptions (such as cards with color indicators) and this is one of those cases.

May 18, 2017 2:20 p.m.

Catalog9000 says... #2

Quantumsandwich, thanks. I just wanted to be sure before I start designing a deck that doesn't actually work.

May 18, 2017 2:26 p.m.

Please login to comment