Does Merieke Ri Berit trigger if she becomes untapped?

Asked by Pheardemons 1 year ago

Scenario. Merieke Ri Berit is tapped and controlling a creature. I have Magewright's Stone and Sundial of the Infinite on my side of the battlefield. I use Magewright's Stone to untap Merieke Ri Berit . The creature I gained control of should die here, but can I use Sundial of the Infinite to end the turn to keep the creature alive and have Merieke Ri Berit untapped?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

Yes, it's a trigger that you're allowed to respond to. A triggered ability always starts with one of the words "when/whenever/at", and Merieke's activated ability creates a delayed triggered ability that triggers "When Merieke Ri Berit leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped".

January 19, 2018 12:51 a.m.

Pheardemons says... #3

Thank you!

January 19, 2018 8:26 a.m.

I have a question about the stack and timing of those cards. According to Sundial of the Infinite , whennyou end your turn you also end anything on the stack. You said the activation order would be Magewright's Stone THEN Sundial of the Infinite . That would mean Magewright is still on the stack when Sundial resolves, since Sundial resolves first. Wouldnt that mean Sundial would resolve in ending the turn, banishing Magewright on the stack before it can resolve?

May 6, 2019 11:26 a.m.

Pheardemons says... #5

The way you worded it, yes. However, Magewright's Stone would need to resolve and untap Merieke Ri Berit for the Sundial of the Infinite to even matter in this scenario. It is best to allow Magewright's Stone to resolve, therefore untapping Merieke Ri Berit . When her trigger goes on the stack, activate Sundial of the Infinite

May 6, 2019 5:17 p.m.

Please login to comment