Does Displacement Wave destroy auras?

Asked by ------ 4 years ago

Given the example, my opponent has a Monastery Swiftspear enchanted with Infectious Bloodlust .

Now I cast Displacement Wave .

First, I cast it for X=1. Bounce swiftspear, aura goes to the grave.

Now, let's assume there is an Abbot of Keral Keep enchanted with Infectious Bloodlust , so I use X=2.

What will happen? Do I bounce the bloodlust too or will the bloodlust be destroyed because it no longer enchants it's legal target? Which comes first?

Actually, in this scenario, I want to bounce the bloodlust, since destryoing it does not really help me against red aggro.

Trockenmatt says... Accepted answer #1

Bloodlust and Abbot will be bounced at the same time, so they will both return to hand.

August 7, 2015 11:02 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Some additional detail:

Note that Auras are not destroyed if they are not enchanting a legal object. They're simply put into their owner's graveyard. This process doesn't destroy anything. This process is also a state-based action, so it only happens after Displacement Wave has fully resolved.

When a spell or ability applies an effect to multiple objects, but it doesn't specify any order in which those objects are affected, then the effect is applied to all objects simultaneously. In this case, even if the effect were written to somehow bounce the Aura last, the Aura would still be bounced because the Displacement Wave must resolve before state-based actions can apply.

August 8, 2015 8:45 a.m.

This discussion has been closed