Does Dead-Iron Sledge prevent trample combat damage?

Asked by StopShot 2 years ago

Card: Dead-Iron Sledge

Let's say I have a creature on the battlefield equipped with Dead-Iron Sledge. My opponent declares attacks and sends a large creature with trample attacking me. On declare blockers I choose to block the large creature with trample with my creature equipped with the Dead-Iron Sledge. Since my creature was declared as a blocker Dead-Iron Sledge's ability triggers and its ability to destroy both my creature and the creature with trample is put on the stack. Does this ability resolve before combat damage is dealt? Will it prevent damage from trampling over to me by destroying the opponent's creature in this manner? (Presuming the opponent's creature has more power than my creature's toughness.)

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

Dead-Iron Sledge's ability triggers during the Declare Blockers Step of combat and will resolve promptly. Since this happens before the Combat Damage Step, no damage will be assigned or dealt by or to either creature, meaning that abilities like Lifelink, Trample, and Infect won't do anything.

June 4, 2017 8:22 a.m.

StopShot says... #2

@acbooster, Thank you. If the creature with trample is regenerated will it still deal damage though?

June 4, 2017 8:48 a.m.

acbooster says... #3

No. When a creature is regenerated, it's tapped, removed from combat, and has all damage removed from it

June 4, 2017 8:50 a.m.

StopShot says... #4

@acbooster, Thank you again.

June 4, 2017 8:54 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

If the trample creature has an equipment with totem armor or becomes indestructible it will survive AND deal combat damage though.

June 4, 2017 1:44 p.m.

Please login to comment