does copying a spell count as casting it?

Asked by Kalani 7 years ago

I don't think it does, but i wanted to check what you folks thought.

KrazyCaley says... Accepted answer #1

Not by itself, but keep in mind that many spells that create copies also require you to "cast" those copies, i.e. Isochron Scepter .

Again, though, copying does not mean casting automatically, if that's what you meant. If you cast Twincast to create a copy, you don't have to CAST the copy.

November 22, 2010 4:09 p.m.

ranban says... #2

no it doesnt count as a cast. when u cast the spell tht copies the instant or sorcery, it just copies it.

November 22, 2010 4:12 p.m.

Emn1ty says... #3

Casting = Playing. A good example would be Storm. Storm copies each spell PLAYED before it. So if you play three spells, play a storm card and have it duplicated three times you couldn't use those three additional spells to cast another storm card since the copies were not cast/played, they just re-resolve.

November 22, 2010 6:59 p.m.

Siegfried says... #4

...that's not how storm works Emn1ty.

Dragonstorm card:Mind's Desire Tendrils of Agony

A spell with Storm copies itself for each spell cast before it. E.g: You play 3 spells, then cast Dragonstorm. You search your library for 4 Dragons and put them into play.

Back to the discussion, do spells played via Isochron Scepter , Eye of the Storm , Intet, the Dreamer , Hellcarver Demon etc. count as being cast?

November 22, 2010 9:36 p.m.

Emn1ty says... #5

That is what I meant.

November 23, 2010 12:02 a.m.

Eyehate says... #6


Copying a spell only counts as casting it if the spell or ability that copies it specifically says it is to be treated as if it were "cast".

In general a spell counts as being "cast" only when it is cast from your hand or the spell or ability allowing you to utilize it specifically uses the terminology "cast".


In those examples yes, but it is because of the explicit text on those cards that specifies "cast". The images shown on this site are not always of the most up to date text, but they have been updated on the Gatherer with the current Oracle rules text. See examples below:

Isochron Scepter , should say:

2, Tap: You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Eye of the Storm , should say:

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery card, exile it. Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card exiled with Eye of the Storm. For each copy, the player may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.


(I think Intet, the Dreamer was missed for the errata though. It still has the old "played" instead of the new "cast" but I think that is an oversight. I might be off on that though)

November 23, 2010 12:46 a.m.

emblasochist says... #7

If ( is able to cause you to cast spell copies, why aren't there numerous decks based around this and ( I don't think I have seen a single deck based around those two here...

January 4, 2011 6:22 p.m.

salvat1onarmy says... #8

Does reverberating a Reverberate for 10000000 plus Kiln Fiend swing for 10000000 work

November 28, 2011 8:50 p.m.

KrazyCaley says... #9

No, because you only cast one spell, reverberate. Then you just copied over and over.

November 28, 2011 10:54 p.m.

salvat1onarmy says... #10

k thanks

December 6, 2011 10:44 p.m.

fieroguru says... #11

In regard to reverberating a Reverberate ; I think you could sacrifice/exile all those copies to pump Nivmagus Elemental for nigh infinite strength/toughness+1. You'd have to be careful though Grisly Spectacle would mill you instantly.

May 3, 2013 1:56 p.m.

fieroguru says... #12

Never mind, just realized the whole thing collapses because they would all have to resolve to copy each other so that's that; wouldn't work.

May 3, 2013 5:10 p.m.

randomguyguy says... #13

111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. As the first step of being cast (see rule 601, "Casting Spells"), the card becomes a spell and is moved to the top of the stack from the zone it was in, which is usually its owner's hand. (See rule 405, "Stack.") A spell remains on the stack as a spell until it resolves (see rule 608, "Resolving Spells and Abilities"), is countered (see rule 701.5), or otherwise leaves the stack. For more information, see section 6, "Spells, Abilities, and Effects."111.1a A copy of a spell is also a spell, even if it has no card associated with it. See rule 706.10.111.1b Some effects allow a player to cast a copy of a card; if the player does, that copy is a spell as well. See rule 706.12.

June 16, 2013 3:28 p.m.

p20j3ctx says... #14

706.10 To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isnt cast and a copy of an activated ability isnt activated. A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.) Choices that are normally made on resolution are not copied. If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell or ability. A copy of a spell is owned by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell or ability is controlled by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, even though it has no spell card associated with it. A copy of an ability is itself an ability.

May 16, 2016 3:06 p.m.

This discussion has been closed