Does copying a spell count as casting it?

Asked by jstache93 2 years ago

For example, if I cast ReverberateMTG Card: Reverberate to copy my opponent's IncinerateMTG Card: Incinerate, would that count as casting two spells for the purposes of Shrine of Burning RageMTG Card: Shrine of Burning Rage or flipping a werewolf?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No. A copy of a spell is never cast unless the effect creating that copy specifically instructs you to cast it (compare, for example, ReverberateMTG Card: Reverberate to Isochron ScepterMTG Card: Isochron Scepter's activated ability). The copy created by Reverberate in particular is not cast, so it won't count for storm, Shrine of Burning RageMTG Card: Shrine of Burning Rage, or transformations of werewolves.

March 13, 2012 6:34 p.m.

Please login to comment