Does Coat of Arms benefit my opponent as well?

Asked by TypicalTimmy 7 months ago

I was considering adding Coat of Arms into a token deck I have when I realized the text does not say "you control".

It says "Each creature gets".

Similarly to how Night of Souls' Betrayal will apply to ALL creatures on the battlefield, surely Coat of Arms applies to EACH, right?

The errata / rules does not specify, and neither does the card text. And furthermore, even the explanation text merely mentions the various Goblins, but not who controls them.

TuckerMTG says... Accepted answer #1

Yes it does. It does not say creatures you control, it says each creature. That means that it would apply to all creatures on the battlefield.

February 12, 2018 7:43 a.m.

Boza says... #2

TuckerMTG is correct - I think it is most obvious when you compare it with the spiritual successor Vanquisher's Banner, which only applies to your creatures.

February 12, 2018 7:57 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Note that the boost is also based on all creatures, not just creatures that share a controller. If you have a Chameleon Colossus and your opponent has 5 creatures that share no creature types, you're Chameleon Colossus will get +5/+5 and each of your opponent's creatures will get +1/+1.

February 13, 2018 1:01 p.m.

Please login to comment