Does Clear Shot trigger Mirrorwing Dragon 's ability?

Asked by Cookieboy1221 2 years ago

Let's say I have 5x 2/2 Wolf tokens and a Mirrorwing Dragon on the battlefield. I cast Clear Shot targeting Mirrorwing Dragon . Does the dragon copy it allowing the wolf tokens to deal damage or not?

My understanding is: Clear Shot targets Mirrorwing Dragon then allows the dragon itself to target a creature I don't control.

acbooster says... #1

It works the way you want it to.

Mirrorwing Dragon looks at a spell's controller whenever it's targeted. If that player has creatures that the spell can also target, a copy will be made for each one that it can target and will target it. If your opponent casts Murder, then all of their creatures will have a copy of Murder targeting them, provided they're legal targets. However, if you cast Clear Shot, then a copy will be made for each creature you control that is a legal target (doesn't have Shroud or Protection from Green or Instants, looking at you Emrakul, the Promised End)

October 30, 2016 11:48 a.m.

Cookieboy1221 says... #2

So Clear Shot doesn't target 2 things?

October 30, 2016 11:53 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

Clear Shot has two targets and will not trigger Mirrorwing Dragon's ability. The gatherer ruling makes it clear that any other object or even a player being targeted will make it so the ability doesn't trigger.

7/13/2016: The ability triggers whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery spell that targets only Mirrorwing Dragon and no other object or player.

October 30, 2016 11:59 a.m.

Cookieboy1221 says... #4

I didn't think Clear Shot was targeting the creature that Mirrorwing Dragon deals damage to. I thought Clear Shot makes Mirrorwing Dragon target the creature.

October 30, 2016 12:12 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Creatures don't target anything. That's a false distinction. Clear Shot defines two targets. It's irrelevant that those targets interact at all; Mirrorwing Dragon's ability only cares about the number of targets. It can only trigger if there's a single target and that target is Mirrorwing Dragon.

October 30, 2016 12:29 p.m.

Cookieboy1221 says... #6

That's fine. Thanks guys. Just wanted a clarification and I got it. :)

October 30, 2016 12:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed