Does Cerulean Wisps completely change the color or just add it?

Asked by ShamaLamaDingDong 4 years ago

If I play Cerulean Wisps on Dragonlord Dromoka, could I then Ultimate Price her?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

"Becomes X" without an "in addition to its other [characteristics]" means that the object becomes only X. It loses its other characteristics of the same kind. Cerulean Wisps makes something mono-blue until end of turn.

April 1, 2015 10:59 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Always check Gatherer before posting a question.

5/1/2008: An effect that changes a permanent's colors overwrites all its old colors unless it specifically says "in addition to its other colors." For example, after Cerulean Wisps resolves, the affected creature will just be blue. It doesn't matter what colors it used to be (even if, for example, it used to be blue and black).

April 1, 2015 11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed