Does casting distortion strike after block work?

Asked by toastymcslugnugget 7 years ago

Question goes as titled.

Say I attack, opponent blocks, is there a time I can cast Distortion Strike thus making my creature unblockable?

theemptyquiver says... Accepted answer #1


Distortion Strike is a sorcery. You can only cast it during the pre-combat main phase or the post-combat main phase.

I have no idea why you'd want to do it post-combat, but you could.

March 18, 2011 2:48 p.m.

Leardawg says... #2

I am going to say no if only because Distortion Strike is a sorcery and not an instant and only instants can be cast during the attack step.

March 18, 2011 2:49 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Even if you used an instant like Infiltrate , waiting until after blockers are declared is too late. A creature being unblockable means creatures can't be declared to block it. Once a blocker is declared, the attacking creature stays blocked for the rest of the Combat phase, regardless of what happens to it or the blocking creature after that point.

March 18, 2011 3:27 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

No. Even if you had Leyline of Anticipation , which would allow you to flash-cast Distortion Strike , you have to cast it before blockers. Unblockable means that nothing can be assigned a blocker to that particular creature. If a creature gains the ability after it has already been blocked, the ability is effectively disregarded for that instance of combat.

If you cast something like World at War in the second main phase, then the creature will be unblockable during that later combat phase because the ability is on the creature prior to the declare blockers step.

March 19, 2011 8:41 p.m.

This discussion has been closed