Does Mirage Mirror's ability target?

Asked by SurpriZe 8 months ago

Can Mirage Mirror's ability be used to copy a shrouded/hexproof permanent? Will it also destroy illusions (such as Illusionary Servant) by trying to copy them?

cdkime says... Accepted answer #1

Question 1:

Yes, Mirage Mirror does target--any time an ability says the word "target" it is a targeted ability. As such, you cannot use it to copy a shrouded artifact, creature, or land, and can only use it to target a hexproof artifact, creature, or land if you controlled the targetted object. Also, note how it does not use the word "permanent"--Mirage Mirror can't target planeswalkers.

Compare to Phantasmal Image, which enters the battlefield as a copy of another creature, but does not target that creature.

Question 2:

Yes generally, but there's a bit of an error in your terminology. Yes, the Illusionary Servant will die, but it will be sacrificed, not destroyed. These are very different effects, so the distinction is critical. For example, an indestructible Illusionary Servant would still die as a result of Mirage Mirror's targeting, as sacrificing a creature does not implicate indestructible.

Your Mirage Mirror will still become a copy of the targeted object, even if it was sacrificed prior to resolution of the Mirage Mirror ability.

October 5, 2018 3:12 p.m. Edited.

SurpriZe says... #2

@cdkime Thank you for the most detailed answer, truly appreciated!

October 6, 2018 4:15 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Your Mirage Mirror will not become a copy of the targeted object if it is sacrificed prior to the ability's resolution, whether it is due to the illusion ability or the controller sacrificing it to another effect. Targeting legality is checked on both activation and resolution, it the target is sacrificed, destroyed, given shroud, or otherwise made illegal after you target it, you won't copy it.

October 6, 2018 9:35 a.m.

SurpriZe says... #4

@Neotrup Thanks for clarifying!

October 6, 2018 2:49 p.m.

Please login to comment