Does Break Through the Line works after creature gains power-up ?

Asked by Arxxxus 4 years ago

Hello. If I have Goblin Rabblemaster , Break Through the Line and for example 3 Goblin tokens on the field and in my 1st. Main Phase I activate Break Through the Line to make him unblockable. But if I attack with him in my Attack phase he gets a power boost so he will be 6/2. Is he still unblockable or he loses unblockability becouse of power boost ? Thank you for help.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

It's still unblockable.

Break Through the Line's ability only checks the creature's power when you declare its target and when it resolves. It doesn't care what happens after that because the duration of the "can't be blocked" ability isn't defined by the creature's power.

A related Gatherer ruling from Goblin Tunneler:
6/15/2010: The power of the targeted creature is checked both as you target it and as the ability resolves. After the ability resolves, the creature can't be blocked that turn even if its power becomes greater than 2.

February 10, 2015 5:58 p.m.

This discussion has been closed