Auto-suggestions on decks are now available

Does an interrupt count as an instant?

Asked by Pskytzo 2 years ago

Counterspell in graveyard + Enigma Drake on the battlefield.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

All cards with "Interrupt" in their type line have been errata'd to be "Instant"s instead, so yes it would count.

August 19, 2017 6:11 p.m.

The same is true for old prints of cards that might say "mana source" instead of "instant" or "sorcery".

August 19, 2017 6:13 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

Looks at the linked art of Counterspell... er.. umm... at least you aren't trolling because you didn't decide to link Counterspell.

August 20, 2017 1:52 a.m.

Pskytzo says... #4

Gidgetimer i'm unaware of how to link a specefic printing of a card. I am also aware they are now printed as instants; however, you should be aware how my circle works as all magic circles should. We will be very literal and technical when it comes to wording so i wanted to be sure i was correct before the gauranteed argument that will come from playing it insues.

August 20, 2017 3:33 a.m.

Pskytzo says... #5

Raging_Squiggle thank you for answering my question like I'm a human being and not belittling me like Gidgetimer did.

August 20, 2017 3:35 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #6

If you are going to be literal and technical about wording of cards you also need to be aware that all cards no matter what is actually printed on the cardboard are treated as if they have the current Oracle text on them. I was not trying to belittle you, I thought that the fact that they are currently printed as instants would lead everyone to realize that the current Oracle has Counterspell as an instant. I apologize for assuming everyone was aware that every card with the same English name was treated as if it has the same exact text no matter what is printed on the cardboard.

August 20, 2017 12:34 p.m.

Pskytzo says... #7

Gidgetimer I'm just fairly new. I started playing on xbox in 2013ish because i finally had a way to learn without the rules constantly changing cuz when i tried to play when it first came out everytime i played with someone new the rules would change. So then like i said finally started playing in 2013 on xbox, then started playing cardboard a year later, when my nephews went to college i had nobody to play with and sold all my stuff, now i have a group i play with and I get dumbfounded by some shitty ass rules. Why when you fight a target creature would you lose first strike or the first strike from double strike but not lose deathtouch or lifelink?

August 21, 2017 12:08 p.m.

Because first/double strike only function when creatures deal combat damage. Not when they deal any other form of damage.

Fighting is defined as (paraphrased) "two target creatures each deal damage to each other equal to their power."

The reason lifelink and deathtouch do work for fighting is because they apply to any form of damage a creature would deal, not just combat damage.

August 21, 2017 1:15 p.m.

Pskytzo says... #9

Ahhhhhh, i see... Stupid flipping pinging for deathtouch. I can't stand that garbage!

August 21, 2017 6:30 p.m.

Please login to comment