Does an attacking creature with menace and double strike deal double damage to each of the blocking creatures?

Asked by magicsheep 4 months ago

EX: Dragon-Style Twins is equipped with Captain's Hook and attacks (not on the same turn, prowess DOES NOT trigger. Opponent double blocks with 2 5/5s (say Raging Swordtooth). What creatures die?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

All three of them die. Your creature deals 5 damage in the first strike damage step and kills the blocker you put first in the damage assignment order. Then in the regular combat damage step your creature does 5 to the remaining blocker and the remaining blocker does 5 to it.

February 11, 2018 6:41 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

When a creature is blocked by multiple creatures, it doesn't deal it's full damage to each of them (is it would if it were instructed to fight multiple creatures). Instead you choose a damage assignment order. Normally, what happens is the attacking creature deals damage equal to it's power divided among the blocking creatures such that it deals lethal to the creatures down the line in blocking order. Gidgetimer explained how it works out in your specific example.

February 11, 2018 9:14 p.m.

magicsheep says... #3

Thanks for help everyone. HUGE thanks to Neotrup and Gidgetimer for your awesome help.

February 11, 2018 10:24 p.m.

Please login to comment