Does a Whitemane Lion work with Scrounging Bandar?

Asked by mtg12 2 years ago

I just wanted to know if I could flash in the Whitemane Lion as the last counter moves from the Scrounging Bandar so I can return the Bandar to my hand and play it again. Btw I'm working on a GW cat tribal commander deck with Arahbo, Roar of the World so any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Yesterday says... Accepted answer #1

You can't cause an action to take effect in the middle of the resolution of an ability, so you can either chose to use the Whitemane Lion's ability to bounce the Scrounging Bandar before or after its ability resolves. If you flash in the Whitemane Lion in response to Scrounging Bandar's ability triggering, Whitemane Lion's ability will resolve first and Scrounging Bandar's ability won't have any effect.

Unless there's another effect which boosts Scrounging Bandar's base power and toughness, then unfortunately your idea won't work because Scrounging Bandar will die when it has no counters on it as it has zero or less toughness. This is a state-based action, which means it isn't something that goes on the stack that you can respond to, it just happens super quick-like and stuff.

April 9, 2018 10:27 p.m.

Please login to comment