Does a copy of a Shapeshifter get Changeling?

Asked by random_mage_X548 4 months ago

Jwari Shapeshifter can only copy Allies. But when it comes into play as a copy of say Universal Automaton , does it then still trigger non-Ally cards like Champion of the Parish?

Yesterday says... #1

Yes.

June 22, 2019 8:02 a.m.

Short. I like it. Thanks.

June 22, 2019 8:44 a.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #3

Why this works:

From rule 706.2: "The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics)." (emphasis added)

Changeling is part of the rules text and is thus copied, giving your Jwari Shapeshifter Changeling as well.

June 22, 2019 12:07 p.m.

Thank you! Now I know for sure!

June 22, 2019 4:48 p.m.

Please login to comment