Do Sakashima tokens created by Helm of the Host stick on the battlefield?

Asked by QuickMaths 3 months ago

Let's say I have both Sakashima the Impostor and Helm of the Host on the field, and I equip the helm onto Sakashima and move to combat. Helm creates a non-legendary token, but on Sakashima it says that if it copies a creature, it retains its name and legendary supertype. Would the Sakashimas stick around, or does the legend rule still apply?

DreadnoughtMTG says... #2

Sakashima's ability text doesn't apply to any Sakashima tokens, just to Sakashima as she enters and copies another creature. All of the tokens made by Helm of the Hosts will stick around because none of them are legendary; i.e., the legend rule will not even "trigger" (it's a state based action but it will never see two legendary creatures of the same name).

January 25, 2019 3:27 p.m.

QuickMaths says... #3

So if I am understanding correctly, as long as I don't have the tokens come in and copy a creature, then I can have as many Sakashimas as I want?

January 25, 2019 3:40 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #4

The answer is different depending on whether the Sakashima in your example is currently copying something else. If it isn't copying anything then the answer also depends on whether you choose to copy something or not.

First example - Sakashima is copying something: Let's say Sakashima the Impostor is pretending to be a Bear Cub , meaning it's a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. Helm of the Host will create a copy of that creature and remove the Legendary supertype, resulting in a Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.

Second example part 1 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you choose not to copy anything with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose not to copy anything as the token enters the battlefield then it results in a Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.

Second example part 2 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you do choose to copy something with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose to copy Bear Cub with the token as it enters the battlefield then the token's copy effect will add the Legendary supertype (Sakashima's current Oracle text has been clarified a bit to say "it's legendary in addition to its other types"). It results in a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule will apply and you need to choose one Sakashima to keep and get rid of the other one.

January 25, 2019 3:46 p.m.

DreadnoughtMTG says... #5

Exactly; as long as your tokens don't copy anything, you can have as many as you like (or, similarly, if the original is already a copy and the tokens therefore can't copy anything then you can have as many as you like).

Rhadamanthus gave a solid, more detailed description which covers all the possibilities.

January 25, 2019 3:54 p.m.

QuickMaths says... #6

This makes a lot more sense to me now. Thank you guys for the explanations!

January 25, 2019 4:30 p.m.

Please login to comment