Do Planar Abilities Go On The Stack?

Asked by rei10 8 months ago

So I was playing Planechase and this situation came up. We planeswalked away from Sanctum of Serra and someone wanted to sacrifice her creatures to Ayli, Eternal Pilgrim before it happened. Can she do that? I thought planar abilities couldn’t be responded to.

yes planar abilities use the stack.

May 14, 2018 7:11 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #2

Rolling the planar die does not use the stack. Planeswalking and planar abilities do (when they're triggered or activated abilities, in this case Sanctum of Serra has a triggered ability).

901.9. Any time the active player has priority and the stack is empty, but only during a main phase of their turn, that player may roll the planar die. Taking this action costs a player an amount of mana equal to the number of times they have previously taken this action on that turn. This is a special action and doesnt use the stack. Note that this number wont be equal to the number of times the player has rolled the planar die that turn if an effect has caused the player to roll the planar die that turn. (See rule 115.2g.)
901.9a If the die roll is a blank face, nothing happens. The active player gets priority.
901.9b If the die roll is the chaos symbol CHAOS, any ability of a face-up plane that starts When you roll CHAOS triggers and is put on the stack. The active player gets priority.
901.9c If the die roll is the Planeswalker symbol PW, the planeswalking ability triggers and is put on the stack. The active player gets priority. (See rule 901.8.)

So, once Plansewalking has been triggered that player may sacrifice their creatures in response. Sanctum of Serra's trigger will also fire and go on the stack first.

May 14, 2018 7:18 p.m.

rei10 says... #3

Thanks! I appreciate it.

May 14, 2018 7:23 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #4

There are actually two triggered abilities that can be responded to. When the Planar Die rolls planeswalker symbol it triggers an ability to planeswalk to the next plane. Players may cast instants and activate abilities in response, while still on Sanctum of Serra. Then, when resolving the planeswalk ability a new plane will be revealed, Sanctum of Serra's triggered ability will trigger, and Sanctum of Serra will be turned face-down and put on the bottom of it's owner's planar deck. Sanctum of Serra's triggered ability will now be put on the stack while in the new plane, and players will once again have an opportunity to respond. This means players can see if the new plane has any relevant abilities (which could be beneficial or detrimental) before responding.

May 14, 2018 7:35 p.m.

rei10 says... #5

Thats good information Neotrup thank you.

May 15, 2018 9:55 p.m.

Please login to comment